Today has been the trifecta of bureaucratic hell – a dentist’s appointment, the DMV, and a French consulate problem with my visa. A perfect mixture of paperwork, red tape, recorded messages and unanswered emails enough to drive even the calmest person to the brink of insanity.

Some people go months, perhaps even years avoiding these activities, but I exhibit just enough anxiety-ridden procrastination to have no other option than schedule all three of them on the same day. It’s like every bureaucrat/sadist’s wet dream.

And to put the icing on top, shortly before banging the shit out of my shin, I discovered that I set up a visa appointment at the wrong consulate. Long story short, I have two non-refundable plane tickets I may lose, and two significantly more pricey ones I may have to purchase.

Pity party for one!

And to that tune, I am waiting at the DMV, typing this on my phone and indulging in a consolation hot dog.

In the grand scheme of things, I understand these problems are trivial. Stress-inducing, but trivial. It’s just one of those days. I am still alive, the sun is shining, I will still make it to France somehow. And I have health care. Why am I complaining?

At least I can say the hot dog stand lady was a genuinely nice person. That will have to be my sign for today that everything will turn out okay, even if it’s not exactly as I anticipated.

