Oh heeey, blogosphere. So I see it has been a while. My apologies. Things have been piling up a little bit lately, despite my fairly light work schedule.

I must have been laboring under the misapprehension that I was a talented bicyclist a couple weeks ago, because I took a curb waaay too fast, flew off my bike, and messed up my back and wrist.

Don’t worry, though! The bike is fine.

In all seriousness, the accident has been getting my morale down, and I’ve realized I am the only person who can change my perspective for the better. I really didn’t want to write about my bum mood here – thus the absence of posts as of late. Because nobody enjoys listening to people complaining about their injuries, unless their stories include a gratuitous amount of pain or gore, like BMX accidents or cracked ribs and missing teeth.

I have all the time in the world to complain about my health once I hit a retirement home. Until then, I’d prefer to write about interesting stuff. Like the fact that French people put shoes under their Christmas trees and fill them with stuff. Or at least from my understanding.

Last week I did a unit on Thanksgiving with the kids, and it was a lot of fun. I drew flashcards with typical food eaten on the holiday, and then played matching games with them to test their vocabulary comprehension. Just a side note: I absolutely love the enthusiasm I get from elementary schoolers when I am teaching English. They are adorable, and they all want to participate. The children often swarm me when I arrive in the schoolyard to ask what we will be doing that day, and it is surely a treat to see them.

Anyway, back to the unit on Thanksgiving, I have realized now how crucial pronunciation in any foreign language can be: take, for example, the word pie. As children were learning the spelling of this word, I was trying to get them to speak in full sentences about different types of food. “I like to eat _____________.”

Well. The way that pie is pronounced in French sounds exactly like pee when read. You fill in the blank. It was pretty much impossible not to burst out into laughter the first time I heard these words strung together. “Noooo, (insert French name here),” I would tell the kids. “You like PIE. PYE pie, not PEE pie. Just…don’t ever say that to anyone.”

KIDS! They say the darnedest things. And even when you are in a funky mood, they can’t help but make you break out into laughter sometimes.

